Book review #2 : The Moonlit garden

The main reason I picked up this particular e-book was because it cost me exactly the change that was left out of a kindle voucher I had received.  Also, the summary whispered sweet nothings about the book being a good read right when I was about to close the window. It was originally written in German but translated into English. Perhaps that’s why some things doesn’t seem to fit. Beauty of words are that though they can be roughly translated into thousands of languages, the essence only prevails in its true tongue. For a moment I wondered if I should have read it in German but unfortunately my German is as good as that of a kindergarten going child.

It’s 5:50 am and I stayed up all night reading the book because I couldn’t stand not finishing the book. The book begins with a mysterious man giving Lily a beautiful but old violin with a rose burned into the wooden design. Lily is a widow and an antique dealer in Berlin. She along with her best friend Ellen,  a restorer settled in London begin the adventure to uncover the mystery of why she got the violin and a composition sheet of “The moonlit garden” as they uncover the stores of two famous owners Rose Galway and Helen Carter. Both who were world-famous violinists but had rather mysterious disappeared or dead following their peaks . The book isn’t a great work of  literature but, it was an amazing page turner and kept me from sleeping without finishing it despite having a long tiring day. The book is set in 2011 and 1900s which gives an insight from all possible the view points.  I loved the idea of unravelling the story where all three narrative view points were given equal justice. The beauty was mainly because all three characters were from a different time lines. Each narrative threw light on their life, upbringing, view of the world around them and their own baggage of emotions or problems.  The plot can be expected after a certain point but, it’s close to the end of the book.

The book takes you to different places in search of its origins and that of its previous owners. It throws light on the strict life of the female violinists back in 1900s, their love for music and having to resist a life without what was normal for a woman back in their society. The 1900s scene was mostly set in colonial days of Indonesia both my Dutch and the English. I couldn’t possibly reveal a lot without gracing your screen with countless spoilers. Because it would result in you spamming me or even cursing me for spoiling you the joy of and good ol’ single time read. I could either say a lot or just not enough on how beautifully they depict the joy of playing music.

It’s a 3 out of 5 for me. Let me know down in the comments section if you’ve already read it / soon shall or not.

Good day to you!

P.S. Imagine me playing spring by Vivaldi as I bid you farewell.

Leave a Reply

